France vs. Croatia World Cup final prediction: Determining edge in defense, midfield, attack, more


World Cup final 2018, France vs Croatia: What time is kick-off, what TV channel is it on and what is our prediction?

World Cup final 2018, France vs Croatia: kick-off time, TV channel details and more
France and Croatia will contest the 21st World Cup final on Sunday – and here is how you can watchCREDIT: GETTY IMAGES

What is it?

The 2018 World Cup final between France and Croatia.

What date is the World Cup 2018 final?

This year, the 21st World Cup final will be held on Sunday, July 15, 2018.

What time does is kick-off?

The final will kick off at 4pm BST. That’s 6pm local time if you’re in Russia.

Where will the final take place?

The Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow will host the finale to the 2018 World Cup. Russia’s sporting Mecca has previously hosted the 1980 Olympics, 1999 Uefa Cup Final and 2008 Champions League Final.

What TV channel is it on?

UK viewers will be able to choose between ITV and the BBC – adverts or no adverts?

For more information, follow our World Cup TV guide and if you’re heading to the capital for the big finale, we’ve rounded up the best spots to watch the World Cup in London.

Which teams will feature?

France were the first to reach the tournament finale after overcoming Belgium in Tuesday’s semi-final. Samuel Umtiti’s goal settled the tie, but Kylian Mbappe again starred on the biggest stage to guide Les Bleus to Moscow.

Meanwhile, Croatia came from behind to beat England in extra timeand reach their first-ever World Cup final. For England and Belgium, it’s Saturday’s third-place place-off.

How do I get tickets and what are the prices?

Unfortunately, but probably not surprisingly, the World Cup Final is currently sold out, but if any tickets become available on resale they will cost £750, £485 and £311 for the various categories.

What is the World Cup final ball?

Adidas introduced a different version of its World Cup Telstar ball for the knockout rounds, but we are yet to find out whether there will be a special edition for Sunday’s final.

The World Cup balls – on the left, the version used in the group stages and on the right, the knockout edition

What happened in 2014?

Over to the Telegraph’s then Football Correspondent, Henry Winter:

“Germany deservedly lifted the World Cup because of a moment of brilliance from Mario Götze – Mario de Janeiro – because of the team’s resilience and intelligence, because of the tackling of the outstanding Jérôme Boateng and because Bastian Schweinsteiger kept going even when battered by Argentine tackles, even when bruised, even when bloodied as his cheek was opened up.

“Schweinsteiger was the best player on the pitch, spilling sweat and blood for the cause.

Germany lift the trophy in 2014 – who will it be this year? CREDIT: GETTY IMAGES

“Germany also prevailed because of the hard work put in by the Deutsche Fussball-Bund since 2004 in transforming its youth-development structure, in calmly preparing inexorably for nights like this. It built football centres for kids, built up a reservoir of talent which saw Götze come off the bench, and built towards a fourth World Cup. A stellar team now has a fourth star to go on that famous white shirt.

“Götze’s goal was a worthy winner of any final, a wonderful take of André Schürrle’s cross on his chest and then hooked finish past Sergio Romero.”

Read his full match report here.

Who are the previous World Cup winners?

There have been 20 finals, with Brazil the most successful country with five titles.

  • 1930 – Uruguay
  • 1934 – Italy
  • 1938 – Italy
  • 1950 – Uruguay
  • 1954 – West Germany
  • 1958 – Brazil
  • 1962 – Brazil
  • 1966 – England
  • 1970 – Brazil
  • 1974 – West Germany
  • 1978 – Argentina
  • 1982 – Italy
  • 1986 – Argentina
  • 1990 – West Germany
  • 1994 – Brazil
  • 1998 – France
  • 2002 – Brazil
  • 2006 – Italy
  • 2010 – Spain
  • 2014 – Germany

Who will win the 2018 World Cup?

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.